HBO GO! Uhh… GO! Um… Whenever you’re ready HBO. I’ll wait here.

My girlfriend is an incredible, beautiful, fantastic // person, who many wondrous qualities make me a very lucky man.  One of these wonderful qualities is that she subscribes to HBO.  I haven’t had access to HBO on a consistent basis since I was in high school, and they didn’t have awesome shows back then.  It was basically a bunch of second tier movies and a brutal prison show.  And HBO, while horrible at making their episodes available on iTunes or Netflix in a timely manner (or at all), they did do one smart thing to entice further viewership.  They created HBO GO.

And he saw that it was HBOGO… and it was good.

HBO GO is a service that allows anyone subscribed to HBO to log in to any computer or smart phone and watch all of their old shows online at any time.  Or the XBox 360.  Unfortunately, I broke mine about four years ago when the entertainment center I assembled with my own two hands collapsed upon itself like a building imploding.  But that’s another story.  Now, I know what you’re thinking.  Stephen, why don’t you just illegally download it?  Patience, dear friends, is a virtue.  I will address that very soon.  Because Lord knows I may have done something similar to that (NOTICE TO FBI THIS IS NOT AN ADMISSION OF GUILT AND WHY ARE YOU READING A TV BLOG ANYWAY GO DO SOMETHING PRODUCTIVE YOU GUYS).

Ehh, there’s probably nothing going anyway…

I had the genius idea of just connecting my laptop to the television, and voila…  I would have outsmarted HBO yet again (and legally this time).

*Side tangent*I feel like getting free cable or watching TV online for free, or downloading is very “I’m still in college or maybe the first few post-college years when I’m insanely broke.”  Some would say I’m an adult… I prefer to refer to myself as creeping up the on-ramp to the highway of responsibility.  I don’t necessarily want to pay for everything, but I’m at a point in my life where I want to keep it above board.  *Tangent complete*

Ah, to be young again.

Every episode of every show ever created for HBO was at the tip of my fingers, and on the big screen, too.  Not this on my phone or on my computer only bullshit.  LIKE GOD MEANT FOR IT TO BE WHEN HE CREATED HBO.

I had to create a schedule as I had so much TV to watch.  All of the shows I missed and all of the shows I had to watch again.  The Wire, of course, was tops.  My girlfriend has never experienced the um… experience that is the Wire.  We paired that with Sopranos (A show I somehow missed, QUIT JUDGING ME WITH THOSE EYES), and that was our new Monday.  One episode a week of each, and it was like it was 2004 all over again and this was still relevant

http://www.ebaumsworld.com/video/watch/27029/

Tuesday was comedy night, with Bored to Death and Eastbound and Down (for her virgin eyes), and Summer Heights High and The Life and Times of Tim (for me).  We hadn’t even scratched the surface with Deadwood, or Curb Your Enthusiasm, or JUST SO MANY SHOWS OHMYGOD…


But there’s an old saying about underestimating your opponent.  And underestimate them I did.  You see, the geniuses at HBO knew that there were assholes like me, leeching off of their girlfriend’s HBO free subscription.  So they decided that they were going to put in a special programming code… A code where the website would only work four days a week.  And of those four days, three of the days would run slow, or freeze at key moments.  OR, even better, the picture would freeze but the audio would continue.  OR EVEN BETTER, the picture would freeze and the audio would begin to loop the same 20 seconds over and over.  And the fourth day the color would go back and forth between crystal clarity and 1980’s Zenith quality picture.

Use your words, Stephen

The first few days, we would laugh, or justify the extra effort to restart the website.  “It’s free, so sometimes it takes a little extra work,” I would say as disappointment snuck into my girlfriend’s eyes.  “But it’s totally worth it.”  It’s not, though.  It’s not worth it.  I felt the sting of failure every time I queued it up and McNulty’s mischievous grin would freeze, a poetic moment of realization that I can’t beat the big corporation.  Legally, anyway.

You’ll never see what I’m smirking about… about… about… about

We gave up after the first week.  Sure, we will occasionally try to hook it up for a night.  Or if I have some time to kill, I’ll watch an episode or two… on the computer.  PFFFT <-Fart noise with mouth.  But now, when there’s a show we want to check out, we do it the old fashioned way, the way we used to do it when I was kid.  I just borrow someone’s copy.

Yo, dawg, I need the complete box set of Carnivale


-Stephen
74 thoughts on “HBO GO! Uhh… GO! Um… Whenever you’re ready HBO. I’ll wait here.

  1. Pingback: HBO Shows To Stream on Amazon Prime! | mysocalledtvblog

  2. Howdy, There’s no doubt that your site could be having browser compatibility issues.
    Whenever I take a look at your web site in Safari, it looks
    fine however, when opening in I.E., it has some overlapping issues.

    I simply wanted to give you a quick heads up!
    Besides that, great website!

  3. Hello there, I discovered your blog via Google whilst searching for a related matter, your website came up, it seems to be good.
    I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    Hello there, just become alert to your weblog thru Google, and found that it’s really informative.
    I’m gonna watch out for brussels. I will appreciate if you happen to
    continue this in future. Lots of other folks will be benefited
    out of your writing. Cheers!

  4. This is really interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger.
    I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your
    excellent post. Also, I have shared your web site in my social networks!

  5. Excellent article. Keep writing such kind of information
    on your site. Im really impressed by your site.
    Hi there, You have done a fantastic job. I will definitely digg it and personally
    suggest to my friends. I’m confident they’ll be benefited from this web site.

  6. I absolutely love your blog and find nearly all of your post’s to
    be just what I’m looking for. Does one offer guest writers to write content for
    yourself? I wouldn’t mind producing a post or elaborating on a
    number of the subjects you write about here. Again,
    awesome weblog!

  7. I just like the valuable information you supply for your articles.
    I will bookmark your blog and check once more right here frequently.

    I am slightly sure I’ll be informed many new stuff proper here!
    Good luck for the following!

  8. I have been browsing online more than 4 hours today, yet I never
    found any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me.
    Personally, if all webmasters and bloggers made good content as you did, the web will
    be much more useful than ever before.

  9. Hi there would you mind stating which blog platform you’re using?
    I’m going to start my own blog soon but I’m having a difficult time selecting between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
    The reason I ask is because your design seems different
    then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique.

    P.S Sorry for being off-topic but I had to ask!

  10. What i don’t understood is if truth be told how you’re
    not actually much more neatly-favored than you might be
    now. You’re so intelligent. You know thus significantly in the
    case of this topic, made me in my opinion consider it from
    numerous varied angles. Its like women and men are not interested until it’s
    something to do with Woman gaga! Your personal stuffs nice.
    At all times handle it up!

  11. Greetings! I know this is kinda off topic however , I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in exchanging links
    or maybe guest writing a blog article or vice-versa?
    My blog discusses a lot of the same subjects as
    yours and I think we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you’re interested feel free to shoot me an e-mail.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Great blog by the way!

  12. You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be actually something that I think I would never
    understand. It seems too complex and very broad for me.
    I am looking forward for your next post, I’ll try to get the hang of it!

  13. When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now
    each time a comment is added I get three emails
    with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove people from that service?
    Many thanks!

  14. I know this web page offers quality depending posts and extra
    material, is there any other website which presents these kinds of information in quality?

  15. Hello! I came across this site on Facebook. I am posting here to find out what theme you are using on your blog, I would love
    to use the same theme so I can put it on my website (castle
    clash hack). Thank you!

  16. Howdy would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re working with?
    I’m looking to start my own blog in the near future but
    I’m having a hard time making a decision between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
    The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most
    blogs and I’m looking for something unique.
    P.S My apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!

  17. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was curious what all is required
    to get setup? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?
    I’m not very internet smart so I’m not 100% sure. Any suggestions or advice would
    be greatly appreciated. Thanks

  18. Hey! I came across your site on Yahoo. I
    am making this comment to find out what theme you’re using on this page, I would love to use
    the theme that you’re using so I can use it on my page (Boom Beach Cheats).
    Thanks.

  19. Whenever i identified these web based, I’m able to possibly not wait to possess them! Ive never obtained many compliments on my small wow gold! I had put together to travel buying alot more leggings as well as skeletal skinny jeans simply so I could possibly have built up an cop out to get these types of lovely wow gold.Everyone loves my best wow gold! 🙂

  20. Hello are using WordPress for your blog platform?

    I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to
    get started and set up my own. Do you need any html coding expertise to make your
    own blog? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  21. You have made some really good points there. I checked on the web
    for more information about the issue and found most people will go along with
    your views on this site.

  22. It’s the best time to make some plans for the future
    and it’s time to be happy. I’ve read this post and if I could I wish to suggest you few interesting things
    or tips. Perhaps you could write next articles referring to this article.

    I desire to read even more things about it!

  23. I want to to thank you for this wonderful read!! I absolutely loved every bit of it. I’ve got you bookmarked to check out new stuff you post|

  24. It’s remarkable to pay a visit this site and reading the
    views of all mates regarding this paragraph, while
    I am also eager of getting familiarity.

  25. We are a group of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our community.

    Your web site provided us with valuable information to work on. You’ve done a formidable job and our entire community will be thankful
    to you.

  26. you are truly a excellent webmaster. The web
    site loading velocity is incredible. It seems that you’re doing any
    distinctive trick. Also, The contents are masterpiece.
    you’ve performed a excellent job on this matter!

  27. Terrific article! This is the kind of information that are supposed to
    be shared around the internet. Disgrace on Google for
    no longer positioning this publish upper! Come on over and discuss with
    my site . Thanks =)

  28. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any
    widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates.
    I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite
    some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience
    with something like this. Please let me know if you run into anything.
    I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new
    updates.

Leave a Reply

